The Glory of God in the Snow

by Aaron

snow

It’s been covering the ground for over a week. It has been called many names.

Snowmageddon. The Snowpocalypse. The White Death.

And I have been right there among the complainers about it. I live in Louisville, KY and we got about a foot of it. For over a week, I was stuck on my seminary campus and couldn’t go anywhere. My vehicle is terrible in snow, so I don’t even want to risk it. I also lost a couple shifts at work, because if the seminary closes, my shifts are cancelled. This means that my paycheck is down and I need that income.

Now, there is a second one coming pretty soon. My hometown has already cancelled school for tomorrow because of its potential. Don’t get me wrong, I want spring to be here. I want to be able to spend time outside again. I want sunshine. I want to stop having to dress in 3 or 4 layers to stay warm.

But I pray that I won’t make the same mistake this time that I did last time.

In the previous snow storm, I spent a week complaining about it. Then I was in Job in my devotional time and I came to Job 37:5-7.

God’s voice is glorious in the thunder. We can’t even imagine the greatness of his power. He directs the snow to fall on the earth and tells the rain to pour down. Then everyone stops working so they can watch his power.”

It was like I had been smacked in the face. I missed about 7 hours of work and all I did was complain. But there was not a flake of snow that fell to the earth that God did not command to fall. “Then everyone stops working so they can watch his power.” I could have watched the power of God fall in the snow, yet all I did was complain.

So as the snow falls over the next couple of days, it will be cold. We will be cooped up inside. We may loose shifts at work that we need. We may not be able to drive our vehicles for a few days.

But let us watch the flakes fall from the sky and gaze on the glory and power of the God who caused it to fall.

